For Florida Statutory language concerning marriage see F.S. 741 and 382.021.
Marriage licenses may be obtained in the Clerk of Courts office located in the Wakulla County Courthouse. To obtain a marriage license both parties must be present and must complete a marriage application (Marriage Kiosk link below) and must be 18 years of age or older. United States citizens are required to present a photo ID, which has the legal name, correct date of birth and signature. We accept driver's license, state or military identification, passport and either a social security card or an alien registration card issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service if the party is not a U.S. citizen. Expired identification will not be accepted. Information found on the identification presented must match the information you enter in the name field.
Any applicant 16 or 17 years of age must provide written consent of either the parents or legal guardians. Individuals under the age of 16 many not obtain a marriage license unless approved by the County Judge.
The fee for a marriage license is $93.50 and there is a three (3) day waiting period for Florida residents; there is no waiting period for non-residents. Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course and can provide completion certificates will only be required to pay $61.00 and the three (3) day waiting period will be waived. Please click here for a list of course providers. All Florida residents are required to read the Family Law Handbook (English)(Spanish) whether or not the premarital preparation course has been completed.
Fees for marriage licenses are payable in cash, check, credit card or money order.
Once a marriage license is issued, it is valid for 60 days and the marriage ceremony must be performed within that time or the license will be voided.
As of October 1st, 2014 the Wakulla County Clerk’s Office no longer performs wedding ceremonies. We will continue to issue marriage licenses per Florida Statutes.
Marriage ceremonies may be performed by a variety of officials, and those are listed in Florida Statutes section 741.07. The ceremony is your choice based on who you can coordinate and schedule according to your plans.
Other Useful Information:
- Florida residency is not a requirement to obtain a marriage license.
- If divorced or widowed the date when the last marriage ended or date of death of spouse is required.
- If only one applicant took the premarital course, the waiting period is still required.
To obtain a certified copy of a recorded marriage license (or any other questions about marriage) dial 850-926-0322 or purchase directly from www.myflorida.com with a credit or debit card.
Note: Because of the time involved in processing the application, we cannot accept applications after 4:00 pm.
To begin the process for a marriage license you may click in the box below, complete the form (choose all CAPS) then click SUBMIT to electronically deliver the application to our office. If applicable, any party with a different name than that given at birth should input birth name in field indicated. There is no need to print the form; however you must record the transaction number issued upon submission of document. You must bring the transaction number to our office to complete the application process. Both parties to a marriage application must appear in our office to finalize the license process.
Short on time? You may choose to read the Family Law Handbook prior to visiting our office, simply click on the back button and choose Marriage License Forms. Also if you have children in common (that were born in Florida) PRINT the form, fill in information, DO NOT SIGN until you are in front of our Deputy Clerk, bring it into our office.
A final note, the official application form and the family law handbook are both produced by other state entities and not the Wakulla County Clerks office. Be patient with these entities as they work to update them.